Corporate Governance of DPG Media in front of the building

Corporate Governance

An overview of the directors, supervisory directors and shareholders responsible for the corporate governance of DPG Media.
Corporate Governance - Christian Van Thillo

Board of Directors DPG Media Group

The responsibilities of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the general strategy of DPG Media, annually approves the operating and investment budgets, supervises financial affairs, and decides on any acquisitions. The Board meets at least four times a year according to a fixed schedule and also whenever the interests of the group so require. Although, according to the articles of association, decisions of the Board are in principle taken by majority, in practice this is done by consensus.

Remuneration Committee

Audit Committee

The responsibilities of the Remuneration & Audit Committee

Two specific committees have been set up within the Board: Firstly, there is the Remuneration Committee which assesses the remuneration policy of the group's main directors and executives. Its members are Ludwig Criel, Jeanine van der Vlist, and Christian Van Thillo. The second committee is the Audit Committee which monitors the preparation of the accounts and the internal and external control procedures. The Audit Committee consists of Ieko Sevinga, chair, Emmanuel Van Thillo, Bernadette de Béthune, and Christophe Convent.

Structure of DPG Media Netherlands

DPG Media endorses the importance of proper corporate governance and the value of transparency in structure and operations. DPG Media BV is a statutory two-tier company with an Executive Board and an independent Supervisory Board. Below are the main features of the current structure.
Board of Directors DPG Media The Netherlands

The responsibilities of the Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board supervises the financial health of the organization and the management of the company's risks. The Supervisory Board acts as a sounding board and advisory body for the Executive Board. The Supervisory Board consists of five members. Two members are appointed on the recommendation of DPG Media Services NV, the parent company of DPG Media BV. These are members Ludwig Criel and Ieko Sevinga. In addition, one member is appointed upon nomination of the Democracy and Media Foundation. This is Annetje Ottow. And finally, one member is nominated by the Works Council. This is Anita Nijboer. These members appointed Frits Campagne as Chairman of the Supervisory Board.

Shareholders of DPG Media Netherlands

Shareholders of DPG Media are DPG Media Services NV, Stichting Democratie en Media, Stichting de Volkskrant, Stichting ter Bevordering van de Christelijke Pers in Nederland and Stichting Het Nieuwe Parool.

The distribution of shares is as follows:

  • DPG Media Services NV: 83.68%
  • Foundation Democracy and Media: 14.27%
  • Stichting ter Bevordering van de Christelijke Pers: 1.00%
  • Stichting de Volkskrant: 0.52%
  • Stichting Het Nieuwe Parool: 0.53%
Board of Directors Berlingske Media